Singing the Psalms
  • OK, first, I need a clarification on something.

I have a master's degree in music education and I teach orchestra in public school, but I have no formal training in sacred music. Everything I know about singing chant I've either learned on this forum, or from Dr. Ed., or the "Master Class" book.

Please correct me if I am wrong here:

If I'm singing Psalms in Latin, say for Vespers or Compline, then the way I choose which mode to sing them in is based upon the mode of the Antiphon, correct?

The correct Antiphon is given in the Liturgy of the Hours, or some other book, whatever is also specifying the psalm, correct?

What if I intend to sing them in English and no mode or music is given whatsoever? How do I choose a melody for the antiphon and a psalm-tone for psalm?

I have the LotH book that the Benedictines at Mount Angel Abbey use, but they have written their own Psalm-tones and melodies for the hymns and antiphons (all English text). I also have "Christian Prayer," but of course there is no musical setting for anything in that book.

Does anyone have a suggestions on where to get melodies and mode information for Vespers sung in English? It would need to be a source that is freely avaliable on the internet, as I have zero $$$ to buy books right now.

thanks
  • darth, If you sing the psalms during the Office, the antiphon will determine the mode of the psalm as you surmised.

Your second question is one of the main reasons I don't like the Vat II LotH -- no antiphon melodies. I believe that some folks suggested sources for tunes, but I wasn't paying close attention. If all else fails, make up your own antiphon melodies in one of the 8 modes and then use the psalm tone that matches. Maybe someone else can point (pardon the pun) to a source for modern antiphon melodies.