Educating The Faithful About the Mass
  • TeresaH
    Has anyone successfully educated the PIP's about what the Mass really is and then moved the parish into sacred and Liturgical music? I'm not good at reinventing wheels so if you have specifics on what you did such as bulletin inserts and teaching homilies or whatever, I would be grateful to hear all about it.

We now have a major rift in the parish among the musicians which has spread to other parishioners. Our church was recently renovated and we lost one of our English Sunday Masses so now everyone is together and not many are happy. Musicians take turns and it ranges from show-choir to Propers and sacred music with some guitarists in between. We have a small group of parishioners who can't stand the "anything goes" mentality of the show-choir stuff or the fact that the newer musicians have no guidance and sang Were You There on Easter morning. The group formed after First Communion when one of the mothers was furious that the music had nothing to do with Communion and became a performance of random semi-religious songs. The group is planning a get-together with a number of the musicians to talk about improvements and guidance and they want a music director reinstated. Those not involved with the "show-choir" are truly wanting to do the right thing, but are new to the faith themselves and want guidance.

I really think that the first thing to do is to educate the faithful about what is actually happening on the altar during Mass. Once they get the idea that Mass isn't about us we can better move to improved music and the Propers all around.

Our priest chants almost all of his parts and is young and solidly formed on everything but music, and is not a strong leader. This has all come about in the 4 years he has been here. He let the music coordinator go a couple of years ago, saying he would direct the music and things really went wild.