Music History and/or church music history resources.
  • Earl_GreyEarl_Grey
    I am looking to offer a one-semester course on Music History/Appreciation for college seminarians. Any recommendations for texts or listening anthologies? Back when I was in school, we used Grout and the Norton Recordings, which are great but cost a small fortune. This will be only a one-semester survey course and for non-musicians (but potential Catholic priests!). My goal is to simply aquatint them with the "treasury of inestimable value". Still this is my first time teaching the course and I'm not sure what resources are currently available. I see there is a concise Grout. The series by Oxford also looks good, but I'm wondering if anyone has experience using these in class? What about a collection of CDs? Or should I be looking at streaming things from the web?
  • ChoirpartsChoirparts
    One possibility is through "The Teaching Company" - music programs:

http://www.thegreatcourses.com/tgc/courses/courses.aspx?s=802&ps=904

another is to use videos from the "Sacred Music Series" of the BBC:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uq-UEcOrTfI

• irishtenoririshtenor
    I'm also interested in this topic. Anyone else have experience here?
  • chonakchonak
    Some recordings are available through
    http://www.classiccat.net/
    Thanked by 1Earl_Grey
  • jpal
    Try creating Pandora stations to get ideas, e.g.:
    Gregorian chant
    Hildegard
    Medieval polyphony
    Dunstable

etc.

Then download individual tracks from iTunes or Amazon. This is how I get ideas for an ensemble I am involved in.
  • I never fail to rely on Oliver Strunk's anthologies of documents, which are very helpful. Peppering your lectures with such technical and anecdotal knowledge right from the mouths and pens of historical persons will really bring them to life. A similar source under the editorship of Richard Taruskin and Piero Weiss is Music in the Western World: A History in Documents.