Ash Wednesday Distribution (not Mass)
  • aria
    I'd appreciate some suggestions on music for an Ash Wednesday "Ash Distribution Service" (not Mass). I've seen Ash Wednesday Mass Introits but can we use that for a "distribution service" too? I've been told we need only provide "an entrance song, a responsorial pslam, and a lot of songs for the ash distribution" but I've yet to see any rubrics... where do I find them?

Before you reply with specific music suggestions, let me tell you more about my choir...

* We're a very small (volunteer) women's choir (schola?) that started about a year ago. We are self-taught square note readers and have successfully introduced the Entrance Antiphon, chanted Pslam, and Communion Antiphon at one of the Masses in our parish.

* We sing mostly from SEP, Parish Book of Psalms, Lalemant Propers, Lumen Christi Missal (from their website- we're looking forward to Gradual when it's ready!), and Richard Rice arrangements from CC Watershed. To give you a sense of where we are musically (in terms of chant), we are comfortable with the difficulty level of the chant from those sources but find, for example, Fr. Weber's work to be a bit more challenging... while we feel we could learn it with just a little extra work, we don't think our congregation would be ready for something of that level yet.

* We try to include some of the older (sadly, now unfamiliar) hymns, but also have to include familiar songs from Gather and Breaking Bread as well (otherwise, things would get ugly- haha).

* We do the chants in unison and unaccompanied.

* We are reasonably comfortable signing in Latin but most of the parishioners are not. When we can, we try to sprinkle in a few Latin phrases here and there. For example, last year we found a nice version of "Be Joyful, Mary" that was in English but included the occasional "Laetare, O Maria!", and we didn't get any complaints :-)