How many motets/hymns to learn at once?
  • Hi all, I'm new to posting, but I've been reading the forum avidly for some time now. I am a brand new music director, and am kind of learning as I go. (I majored in vocal performance, not conducting, or music history, or liturgy, or....anything helpful.)

I have a modest choir of about 6-7 people, one of whom can read music quite well, one of whom can read it somewhat well, and the others....hardly at all.

I've been slowly introducing music to them to sing as a post-communion choral piece, but it is difficult to gauge just how much I'm overwhelming them. (I feel like I always am!). Most of them are older parishioners, who've already weathered years of changing music programs here.

We've already changed a lot at our parish. Currently, we still practice the '4-hymn sandwich', but those hymns are more traditional, and the Communion hymn is replaced, or at least sung after, the Communion antiphon (from the Simple Choral Gradual, which has been SO great for this!). We've also changed the Mass parts to Mass VIII in Latin, and the responsorial psalms to those from the St. Noel Chabanel collection. I also sing the seasonal Marian antiphon before the recessional hymn (alone, but still, just HEARING a Latin chant is change enough for some people....)

Because we've introduced the Communion antiphon, it changes every week obviously, and that overwhelms them alone. I did do a simple Entrance Antiphon for Advent (to the tune of Creator of the Stars of Night) and boy, was that a big goal!

I'd like to have enough consistency that they feel that they have time to master it (multiple performances), yet enough variety that they don't get bored.

Sorry, this turned into a long post, but really, any helpful hints would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Angelina
    Thanked by 1canadash
  • Kathy