Lauds and the Liber Usualis
  • Jamie
    Sorry for sounding like a complete newbie, but I'm only starting to become familiar with the Office in the Extraordinary Form.

Is there no Order for the Office of Lauds in the Liber Usualis? I can only find the order of Lauds for Feasts, and still it is very confusing (i.e. there is no chant music, only text). If it is in the Liber, where can someone tell me? In the same way I can see Sunday at Vespers, Monday at Compline etc. but No Lauds! Why is that?

Is there a seperate book that should be used for Lauds? I notice that alongside the Mass Propers, the antiphons for Lauds are in the Liber, but I can't find the actual Office of Lauds itself! Help me!

Many thanks!
  • The Liber Usualis is not intended to be a complete book for the entire yearly Office. As the introduction says, it contains only "Lauds for Feasts of the First Class."

The book you want is the Antiphonale Romanum (1912 version, which will serve for most of your purposes, conveniently available here).