Need short notice prelude suggestions
  • It's that awful time of year when my secular music jobs start eating up all the free time I had in the summer to choose and practice new and interesting prelude/postlude music. And because I'm still quite new to this job I don't have a large library of music to fall back on. Any suggestions for things I can work up in a few days time? That's about what I've got to work with for at least the next two months. :-(
  • irishtenoririshtenor
    John Alcock's 8 Easy Voluntaries, perhaps?
  • Oxford publishes a series of organ music for manuals only. Other publishers also do. Concordia used to have a very useful book called Ten Anonymous Eighteenth Century English Volutaries. If it is still in print, you might well find it very useful, not only for joyful Sundays, but for weddings and such. Concordia also has quite a long list of excellent not-difficult organ music.

Early English voluntaries by Gibbons, Tomkins, Byrd, et al., have the beauty of being quite admirable manuals-only music that isn't usually overly difficult. Later 'trumpet' and 'cornet' voluntaries by Stanley, Croft, Bull, Crotch, Alcock (mentioned above), Boyce, and others are quite nice for slightly festive occasions or on days when the lectionary has a really joyful theme.

Many of the continental partitas on hymn tunes, e.g., those of J.G. Walther and others are not too challenging and can serve to make one's voluntaries lectionary-specific.

The chorale preludes of Buxtehude make excellent voluntaries and are not difficult. Ditto some (but not all) of his free works, such as the canzonas.

Then, there are the famous eight little preludes and fugues by Bach (Krebbs).

Many of Frescobaldi's works are not overly challenging. Look into his toccatas, and the Fiori Musicali which has pieces which were intended to be played at mass, either as alternatim pieces or as fillers, for instance, following the epistle.