• I am asking my first question on this site. Hope it is okay to ask here.

I am an older man (75 years old) and I have an okay bakground in piano and choir singing. I have been playing the organ for my country church for about 6 years and I played the piano for a number of years before that. I switched to the organ because I think it helps lead singers better and we have a nice pipe organ in our little church that no one else was playing.

I have had a few organ lessons but I pretty much taught myself. I watch videos of other organists and try to imitate things that I see and hear that I can tell are good.

I would really like to play Bach or some German composers for postludes after mass. Where should I start? I really like counterpoint like Bach uses and things that sound like that, but I am not the best organist in the world. What pieces could I use that would sound good and use counterpoint but not be completely out of the question for someone with my skill? Is there an order that would be good for me to learn some Bach pieces for organ?

Thank you for reading and for answering my questions.
    Thanked by 1Casavant Organist
  • Pachelbel: Ricercare in C minor [I like this piece; it is in three sections]

Pachelbel: Magnificat Fugue VII:7 [this is an interesting chromatic one]

Bach: Little Prelude and Fugue in G major

Bach: Little Prelude and Fugue in A minor [these two are the ones I tend towards, of the set]

How do these look?
    Thanked by 1roger1941
  • John Stanley's voluntaries are quite versatile for preludes or postludes or processionals. Especially the ones (which means most of them) which have 'trumpet tune' sections. The voluntaries of Wllm Boyce are equally fine, as are those of some others of that period.

Other similar literature would work as well.

Jonathan's mention of the 'Little Preludes and Fugues' by 'Bach' is good advice.