Funeral of a Priest, Need Help!
  • SalieriSalieri
    The former pastor of the Parish where I am DM, Rev. Fr. Peter E. Pagano, has just died, I ask first, in your kindness, to pray for the repose of his soul. (He was friends with St. Padre Pio, so he has connections in high places!)

Second, I have never done a Sacerdotal Requiem (OF) before, and am looking for some pointers from those who have. The Bishop will be celebrating the Mass, and the current Pastor (and I presume the Vicar and Dean) will be Concelebrating, and that's all we know (we don't even have a date yet). Fr. was in his mid-90's, so most people in the Presbyterate who knew him are also deceased.

I have written to the Cathedral Music/Liturgy Director, so I'm sure he'll tell me more specifics for this Diocese. But any words of wisdom from those who have done this before will be greatly appreciated!
  • Does your diocese have the custom of the singing of the Salve Regina as father's body is moved into the hearse at the end of the funeral Mass?
    Thanked by 2Salieri melofluent
  • SalieriSalieri
    Dr. Ford, I haven't the faintest idea: the last diocesan funeral I saw (on TV) was the Bishop Emeritus. I got to the sermon and couldn't take it! Every piece of twaddle from the '80's was pulled off the shelf and sung--I have a feeling, however, that that was probably what the poor man requested, since the Cathedral choir usually has much better taste than that! But I will ask if the Salve is sung.
  • ronkrisman
    A number of dioceses have the practice of praying Morning Prayer from the Office of the Dead one hour before the funeral Mass.
    Thanked by 1melofluent
  • In our diocese, all priests are required to have a full funeral plan on file with the diocesan office. The music is part of that plan. Another tradition here is the all of the priests gathered for the funeral sing the salve regina a capella right before the recessional.
  • RevAMG