Colloquium Question
  • Hello, first-time poster here (though I've been reading discussions here and at the Chant Cafe for a few months). I'm considering attending the Colloquium this summer, and was wondering if it would be "right" for me. Here's some background information: I started attending EF masses during my time as an undergraduate music education major (instrumental, not vocal) about 2 years ago, and after I graduated I joined the men's schola; we sing at one mass each month in addition to various special occasions. The whole experience has really sparked my interest in sacred music, especially because I never experienced any traditional Catholic music at mass when I was growing up. I was hoping that some forum members who have attended the Colloquium in the past could fill me in on what to expect.
  • BenBen
    I went last year for the first time, though I've followed it pretty closely online for the past several.

I'm not going to hide my bias that I think the CMAA is absolutely fantastic, but personally, I think the colloquium would be great for you, if the money isn't a deterrent for you. For someone who has a spark of love for sacred music and is involved in it, the colloquium is a great place to meet others who are similarly minded, and to learn so much about it.

I look forward to meeting you, if you are able to come!
  • BenBen
    Also, I've never claimed I am the most eloquent speaker, but here are some videos I made for the chant cafe last year, with a small taste of all the different aspects of a day at the colloquium.

HERE
    Thanked by 1shawnk
  • TCJ
    I don't think you can go wrong attending at least once. The classes are so varied there is something to interest everyone. As Ben said, cost is probably the worst thing about it, but if you can afford it, it's well worth every cent.
  • Hella tight. That's what it is.
  • melofluentmelofluent