Breathing Exercises
  • bhcordovabhcordova
    At the last Summer Chant Intensive, several people were discussing how to increase lung capacity. I got these exercises off of The Trombone Forum (of which I am an administrator and moderator). I don't know who originally posted these (the original post was deleted).

Breathing Exercises
    Careful, these might make you lightheaded.
    I = inhale E = exhale H = hold breath in or out
    EXERCISE FOR CAPACITY
    I for 1 second ("), H for 1", E for 1", H for 1" Repeat: I for 2", H for 2", E for 2", H for 2" Repeat: I for 3", H for 3", E for 3", H for 3"
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 12", then leave out the last H .....
    Repeat: I for 12", H for 12", E for 12" (no H out) Repeat: I for 13", H for 13", E for 13"
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 20", you are now taking 1 breath per minute!. ....
    EXERCISE FOR SUPPORT Do all 3 parts.
    1). TEMPO: quarter note = 60m.m.
    I for 1 beat, H for 1 beat, E for I beat, H for 1 beat Repeat: I for 2, H for 2, E for 2, H for 2
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 16 then change the tempo to: .....
    2). TEMPO: quarter note = 100m.m.
    I for 1 beat, H for 1 beat, E for 1 beat, H for 1 beat Repeat: I for 2, H for 2, E for 2, H for 2
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 16 then change the tempo to: .....
    3). TEMPO: quarter note = 160m.m.
    I for 1 beat, H for 1 beat, E for 1 beat, H for 1 beat Repeat: I for 2, H for 2, E for 2, H for 2
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 16 .....
    EXERCISE FOR CAPACITY AND SUPPORT
    I for 1", E for 1"
    Repeat: I for 2", E for 2" Repeat: I for 3", E for 3"
    ..... keep repeating until you get to 8", then reverse: ..... I for 8", E for 8"
    Repeat: I for 7", E for 7" Repeat: I for 6", E for 6" Repeat: I for 5", E for 5" Repeat: I for 4", E for 4" but as big a breath as the 8" I