Does anyone here use FINALE?
  • I'm a neophyte at computer publishing musical scores. Over at Corpus Christi Watershed, (that great gift of the Church!) Jeff is trying to post music for the new translation, and I'm stuck at the part where I can send my FINALE scores to him as PFD files.

Can anyone here help? Please bear in mind that I have few computer skills, so those who are kind enough to respond, I beg you keep it simple.

I'm a published composer of church music,(most out of print by now, as I've been in the field for 30 years, and what I used to write (motets, anthems, etc.) is considered too hard for modern choirs. My own choirs have always been able to do the stuff if I had the voices - go figure. It's the terrible decline of music in my lifetime.). I spent last summer's vacation composing, then in the blazing heat of August, some wonderful seminarians who liked it actually offered to record it, added their voices to our Schola and making a professional quality recording with an MP3 that Jeff has. Everything was painstakingly put into FINALE and now this snag.

FYI, The music is not plainsong, but it is modal, a Unison with Organ setting for Congregation, very conservative and created to be beautiful, lasting in weekly use, limited in range and crafted to be easy to learn, trying hard to stay within the guidelines the Holy Father's put down. I'd like to get it out there as an alternative to what's being presented by OCP, etc. soon, not only for the sake of my own church, but others who use Unison with Organ settings.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    You need a separate software program for converting to PDF.
    Many cheap and free ones will convert .doc and similar files (MS Word documents), but some of them have a problem reading Finale (I once had a small-town print shop waste 100 pages of score because they were using some off-label PDF reader that didn't interpret the music fonts correctly).
    You may need bite the bullet and buy Adobe Acrobat.