Graduale Romanum translations
  • My question has to do, not with English chant or English substitutes for the Graduale Romanum, but rather with understanding the latin texts themselves. Is there somewhere I can find those texts in English?
    My background is that of a solo singer, and for foreign language opera and art song, there are multitudes of books published that have translations for all those foreign words. We are also trained to do word for word translations ourselves out of the dictionary. This makes me wonder if anything similar exists for this church Latin.

So is there:
    a. a book which has the English versions of the Graduale Romanum texts (to my understanding the English translation of the Roman Missal does not have the same antiphon texts).
    b. a good Latin dictionary that someone with only a limited knowledge of Latin grammar could use to understand these texts?

The English Gregorian Missal has those nice translations, but as far as I can tell, the Graduale Romanum exists only in Latin.
  • chonakchonak
    Since the Gregorian Missal has the Sunday Masses and the major feast days from the Graduale, that covers most of what you need.

The part not covered consists of saints' days, some weekdays, votive Masses, and common Masses.

It might be worth your while to do some independent study in ecclesiastical Latin. The textbook by Collins from Catholic University Press is good.
  • mahrt
    An old-fashioned hand missal will have all of that; unfortunately, it is arranged according to the old calendar. An airtight way around that is to have an old Graduale Romanum: look up the piece there in the index, this will lead you to its location in the liturgical year; you can then look at the translation in the hand missal. These are being republished now because of increased demand for the old rite.