Spanish traditional hymns
  • I am looking for solid Spanish hymns, ideally a collection of them. Most crucial are tunes suitable for Entrance and Final hymns, as Offertory and Communion will be Latin at this (low) Mass.

Months ago I had run across a hymnal on WLP's site that was said to contain familiar, sturdy German, English, and French tunes with Spanish texts. Now they do not carry this item, and the customer service folks I've spoken with have no memory of it. Can anyone help with this?
  • REVISED:
    1881 Methodist Episcopal is online....

http://www.archive.org/details/himnariodelaigl00churgoog
  • AMEN TO THIS REQUEST. I work in a school with 99.9% Hispanic population. I would love for them to be able to sing old hymns with their grandparents, but it seems that all of the Spanish hymnals I come across are thoroughly modernized al la Gather. (Gatherized. Gathericized. Gatherated. Can that be a verb? It would indicated the necessity for a Gatherectomy.)
  • Do a google BOOK search under:

Himnario

You will also find the current Presbyterian hymnal, published by Geneva Press there.
  • bgeorge77,

Is "Gathstrated" descriptive?
  • frogman: I found it by using BOOK himnario episcopal 1940. But it looks like this is a place to buy the book, not to find it online. Am I misunderstanding something?

Forgive my ineptness. I know practically nothing about Google. I know pre-Windows computing down to the bare metal but I never could get interested in GUI. It's sort of like pre- and post-conciliar ......
  • chonakchonak
    Same here, Noel: no luck. For what it's worth, the Spanish Hymnal came out in 1961, consisting of hymns translated from English, and a more recent edition ("El Himnario") appeared in 1998. Portions of that can be seen on Google Books. A 1999 Presbyterian hymnal appears to be its cousin.

Some other Spanish hymnals are on-line: e.g.
    1881 Methodist
  • Maureen