Search for accompanist just got ugly-help
  • The situation: Fourth candidate had her first interview tonight. She played decently and claimed to have extensive experience. She completely failed the sight reading part of the audition, even when we gave her another chance. The candidate is "self taught" and while she has some good skills does not have any formal musical training. Her only previous experience was as a music director at her family's church. She claimed to have directed some kind of regional/district choir, but I have real concerns that this is a fabrication.

After the audition, the candidate left and I sat down with the pastor and the committee to discuss things. I don't think she really understands her role in this kind of position. Several other committee members voiced the same concerns, especially regarding her serious inability to sight read and learn new music quickly. I believe she would be better suited to a position like she had before (if that was a real thing), and that it may be an uncomfortable or difficult transition for her to be in a "supporting role" rather than a leadership role. I have no desire to work with a person who may potentially have a problem with being a "team player" and who may constantly question, challenge, or otherwise attempt to usurp my authority as music director-especially a person who is by her own admission an amateur. Those who liked the candidate did not like my input and I got lots of nasty looks.

The committee at this time appears divided. Half are on my side, half are not. I wish this candidate all the best, but she is not right for our program. I don't get the final say, either. We have another candidate who I do believe would fit well and does have adequate training and-most importantly I think-has her head on straight.

Ugh.
  • Kathy