The Subdued Voice - A reverent way to sing.
  • I had been meditating for a while on what makes people come to Church, stay at Church, keep coming back on Sundays. The music has changed so much since the Novus Ordo Missae. Reverence in Church music could help some people pray well during services. The Subdued Voice is a way people can sing modestly and with increased reverence. The upper lip is still with very little movement. The tongue remains flat. It creates a modest tone of voice, and can almost render a song haunting. The key is to keep the mouth movement limited.

https://youtu.be/BmKyTCPNSsA
    Thanked by 1EliRotello
  • I am not a professional musician, and I don't know all the proper words to describe the concept I am trying to illustrate here. To me, it is closest to what people call a persons "tone of voice." I hope that this idea can help some Church choirs have an alternate way to sing to render a more reverential or haunting character to modern Church music. It could also be used in the extraordinary form perhaps. If anyone ever uses this idea, please post a video. Thanks so much and I hope this helps someone someday.
    Thanked by 1EliRotello
  • Sometimes when I hear modern music sung at the Ordinary form, The vowel sounds seem so exaggerated. There is sometimes too much emotion and personality in the music, sometimes distracting, many times not. Maybe singing in the Subdued Voice, can add to Church musicians' arsenal one more tool of expression.
    Thanked by 1EliRotello
  • Any thoughts?