Font for a funeral program
  • rogue63
    My boss has requested that I make a tri-fold template for programs for funerals. Can anyone recommend a font available in Word 2010? I'm not a graphic designer.
  • Liam
    Use Garamond. It's a time-tested good font. Font geeks can make tons of wonderful recommendations of equal or better (I love Baskerville, which is in the 2010 pack, for example, but some people find it old-fashioned - it's a more open font than some other standards), but Garamond has been a go-to for many professional designers I've worked with in editorial contexts.

Avoid Times fonts: however standard they are, they were designed to save space for newsprint without consideration of compassion on the human eye.

Garamond doesn't use too much space but is easier on the eye on a printed page (it's harder on the eye when viewed on a screen - screen and print are different uses for considering fonts).

Thanked by 1JulieColl
  • Kathy
    My template wasn't beautiful or I'd send it over. PM me if you get desperate, though!
  • Kathy
    And I agree with Liam about Garamond.
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    Garamond is the font of every blessing.
    Thanked by 2ryand BruceL
  • matthewjmatthewj
    Chiller.
    Thanked by 2Adam Wood benstox
  • WJA
    If you want something a bit more formal than Garamond, I'd recommend Palatino.
    Thanked by 1CHGiffen
  • chonakchonak
    What Liam said.

But whatever you choose, stick to one font family: use bold, use italic, use small caps, but all from the same family.
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    While I think most highly of Garamond, I have a real affinity for Palatino Linotype.
    Thanked by 1chonak
  • melofluentmelofluent
    Mat-tieux
    You're truly a bad boy.
    I'm partial to "Californian."
    Duh
  • Liam
    Palatino just tends to use more space than Garamond, so for templates of this sort with space limits, I'd stick with Garamond.
  • Liam