Teaching a Priest the Missa Cantata - Help Needed by This Afternoon
  • BenBen
    All you EF liturginerd types, I could use a little help, by tomorrow afternoon, if at all possible. I'm a fully qualified OF liturginerd, but I'm still learning about the EF.

Update: Here's my final doc. Let me know how it looks:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/13-EhBsM6UQDAFQp5NmBTPGPCzUBHy_zxobHp4h6jGGw/edit?usp=sharing

My pastor recently learned the low Mass, and has it down well. He wants me to teach him the missa cantata (without incense, for the time being). He is mainly concerned with what is sung (and not) and the details like sitting down, intonations, and the like). He can easily learn the needed chants. How does this look for an outline of things to show him?

• Asperges (intoned while kneeling)
    • Sprinkle the altar then congregation
    • Return, chant dialog
    • He goes on as normal until the gloria, while I chant the Int and Ky (may sit during kyrie, if it is a long one)
    • Intones gloria with the same hand gesture as low Mass, continue reciting the gloria at "et in terra", then sitting down when done reciting. Go back to the altar when nearly done singing.
    • Dominus Vobiscum, collect, epistle sung
    • Gradual recited while being sung, sits down when finished recited, rise again when the alleluia begins.
    • When the alleluia chant begins, he prays the normal prayers before the gospel that he would pray at a low Mass, then proclaims the gospel as normal, chanting the dialogs and text of the gospel itself. No chanted dialog at the end.
    • Homily, then credo. Same process for the credo as the gloria.
    • Dominus Vobiscum chanted, then offertory chant begins.
    • Continue same as low Mass, until the preface dialog, which is sung.
    • Chants dialog and preface
    • Sung Per ipsum, praceptis, pater Noster, and I respond "sed libera".