• hartleymartin
    What are the approved texts for the Te Deum? The English versions I have encountered often seem awkward and clumsy.
  • SalieriSalieri
    I prefer the Book of Divine Worship, Rite One. (Anglican Use of the Roman Rite)
  • hartleymartin
    Being a latin student, I found "You are God, we praise you." to be a very poor translation of "Te Deum laudamus"

Is the BDW text the same as the BCP?
  • hartleymartin
    The ICEL Text that I can find, is just atrocious as a latin translation. If I wrote a translation of the latin text and handed it to my latin teacher, I am sure she'd give me about a 5/10 for it, and mostly because it conveys most of the ideas, even if it doesn't express the grammar or have any real artistic merit.

You are God: we praise you;
    You are the Lord: we acclaim you;
    You are the eternal Father:
    All creation worships you.

To you all angels, all the powers of heaven,
    Cherubim and Seraphim, sing in endless praise:
    Holy, holy, holy: Lord, God of power and might,
    heaven and earth are full of your glory.

The glorious company of apostles praise you.
    The noble fellowship of martyrs praise you.
    The white robed army of prophets praise you.

Throughout the world the holy Church acclaims you:
    Father, of majesty unbounded,
    your true and only Son, worthy of all worship,
    and the Holy Spirit, advocate and guide.

You, Christ are the king of glory,
    the eternal Son of the Father.

When you became man to set us free
    you did not spurn the virgin's womb.

You overcame the sting of death,
    and opened the kingdom of heaven to all believers.

You are seated at God's right hand in glory.
    We believe that you will come, and be our judge.

Come then, Lord, and help your people, bought with the price of your own blood, and bring us with your saintsto glory everlasting.

V. Save your people, Lord, and bless your inheritance.
    R. Govern and uphold them now and always.