Mass setting, Imprimatur and ICEL permissions
  • Earl
    Hi I have written some music for the mass. With the new English texts. Iv written it for our local community.
    Im rather new to writing music for mass and also quite young so I dont know much of the procedures to be followed.

Can you please tell me how to go about the copyright permissions with the ICEL?
    and do I need an imprimatur before I ask ICEL for permission?
    Can I sing the mass at a local parish without imprimatur?
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    I'm not sure of the official legal status, but in practice you only need to worry about ICEL Copyrights if you sell your music.

You need to no specific approval to sing your newly composed setting in your own parish, providing it does, in fact, use the text exactly as is. (And if it doesn't, then you de facto shouldn't be using it.)

In theory, you should get the musical setting approved by (at least) your local bishop before making it publicly available. In practice, this is pretty much not needed at all.

If you manage to get a major publisher to publish it, they will take care of all of that for you. If you don't plan to sell it, but basically want to give it away for free, your best bet is to just go ahead and do so. Bishops have more pressing concerns than musical approval stamps.
  • chonakchonak
    ICEL's copyright policies are spelled out at their website.
  • If you wait for an Imprimatur in some diocese (let's see, I have things submitted 6+ years ago in local diocese - actually submitted, told by local Censor to send to Archbishop since there was no Bishop, Archbishop returns them asking that I wait until we have Bishop and I did, then submitted to local when Bishop installed...and no response since) style of music will change before you ever get to hear them sung!

It makes one feel that there are palms that should have had money placed in them...
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen IanW
  • BenBen