• musicman923
    Hi everyone,

I'm playing a organ concert at the first church I ever played at back when I was 13 in mid April.

One piece I wanted to perform is steal away. I heard an awesome choral arrangement of steal away by Andrew Carter and would like it to be transcribed for organ solo from the choral octavo score.

Sheetmusicplus is saying it will take 6 weeks to get shipped out. Does anyone own a score they would be willing to scan to me? The only reason I ask is in 6 weeks the concert will already be over.

Would anyone be willing to make an organ transcription out of the score for me? My transcription skills are lacking and I'm not good at transcribing.

Anyone have any suggestions let me know. Thanks!
  • I'm sure that you are not aware that it is illegal to do this - it is illegal to make an arrangement of a copyright piece of music without permission from the copyright holder - there is a wonderful organ arrangement by Gilbert M. Martin that I played this afternoon, in fact, for a Methodist church. The collection includes a stunning arrangement of ST. AGNES (Jesus, the Very Thought of Me) by Emma Lou Diemer as well as Raymond Haan's arrangment of ABERYSTWYTH (Jesus, Lover of My Soul) all and more for $12.50.

Having an arrangement done of a choral anthem for organ would cost a lot more than that.

http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/title/Quiet-Reflections/467119

Steal Away is public domain, but Andrew Carter's arrangement is not. To further complicate things, if someone reprints AC's arrangement as is in a book, royalties on arrangements do not go to the arranger but to the original copyright holder...which in this case...is PD! Arrangers have to be paid well since normally in the US they do not get royalties on their arrangements.
  • Richard MixRichard Mix