Teaching Children Chant : Words With Wings v. Ward Method
  • SalieriSalieri
    I am thinking of starting a kids schola at the church where I am DM. I have directed adults, but am looking for something a little more basic and structured for the kids, who will be learning from the ground up. I have little knowledge, alas, of either Words with Wings or the Ward Method, and am looking for advice on the relative merits of both lessons.

Thanks
  • jpal
    My wife is a Ward-certified instructor, and while I was initially skeptical, it has done amazing things at her school. You have to be in it for the long haul; it requires a great deal of preparation and patience. However, please do not attempt to teach Ward unless you have completed the appropriate training. You cannot just figure it out by reading through the instructional materials (which apparently are sometimes incomplete or even out of order).

You also probably don't want to do Ward by itself; it may be a good idea to couple it with other approaches that are less cerebral.

I don't know anything about Words With Wings, so I can't speak to that.
  • gregpgregp
    I have a group of grade school kids for 20 minutes once a week; there's no way I'd attempt to learn Ward for that. We started with WWW's in September this year, and so we've only been through the first 5 chapters, but so far it is perfect for the level of interest, commitment, and enthusiasm that the kids have.
  • AOZ
    I agree that the Ward method requires a lot of training. Years of study, and a complete understanding of how all of the small parts add up to the whole. I don't honestly believe that people can teach it just by buying the Ward books. It needs to live and breathe. That is why it is so hard to do these days --- few have the training. And our classrooms situations aren't set up for this much music education, quite frankly.