Question on 24th Sund OT Cyc
  • mjcurtis
    Going from the antiphon to the verses, the C clef shifts where the verses start on an A pitch. However, at the end of the antiphon the custos is on a high E pitch. Should the verses be sung starting on the E or the A???
  • mjcurtis
    This is Cycle A on the Communion entitled "Tollite"
  • incantuincantu
    OK, I'm no expert but I will venture my best educated guess, just to see if I'm right... First, are you looking at the version posted here, from Communio? There is obviously a transcription error somewhere, since the two custodes (third declension?) do not agree with each other. This can be reconcilied by replacing the initial DO clef with a FA clef. While working in the FA hexachord will give you almost all of the correct letter-names, you would land on a half-step (Si-natural) on the last two syllables of "Dominus." I do not believe a flat is permitted on the lowest note of a melody. Therefore, I'm going to guess that when doing the transcription the editor misplaced the initial and final custosses as if relating them to the FA clef.

Anyone?
  • mjcurtis
    Yes, it is the version posted on this site of Tollite. The same thing occurs in "Per Signum" for the Feast of the Triumph of the Cross Saptember 14.

It is interesting because most chants in MODE IV are centered around E or MI. In this case of these chants it is centered on B creating almost a moveable DO where B is the new MI. This is also true of some chants in MODE II. Most are centered on the final of D, but some are much higher centered on the final of A.

Therefore, to match the final of B, the verse should start on E. That's where my ear goes. However, that would create F#'s for it to be correct, which seems silly. If the verses are lower starting on an A, it seems silly to have the final different in the verses than in the antiphon.
  • incantuincantu