Harmony with Kids
  • EGrimm
    I am a rookie teacher and would love some suggestions for:

1. How to teach children (ages 6-13) to sing in parts. I have had some success with canons. Any other tips?

2. Two or three part songs for Mass or for a Christmas performance.

Thanks!
  • francis
    find the most musical ones and have them sing a harmony in thirds to start with.

what kind of repertoire?

get them singing the chant. kids love singing chant and because they sing straight tone are true naturals.
  • Charles in CenCA
    Use the two part St. Gregory edition. Try DuBois' "Adoramus te Christe" as the alto almost constitutes a perfect and memorable counterpoint melody to the soprano. Then move on towards other similar hymns.
  • canadashcanadash
    I've realized this from my own children:

Pick the ones who read music and have the best sense of pitch. Teach them the harmonies.

If you have no children who fit this bill, you must teach them to read music, or ask their parents if they could invest in lessons.
  • Claire H
    I often teach all the children both parts (sometimes by ear, sometimes by rote, always working toward notereading)... then divide them up.

I find that providing recordings (CDs) for them to take home is a strong aid, especially if practice time is limited. Have three tracks for each piece -- melody, harmony, and both parts together.

"Veni, Jesu, Amor Mi" by Cherubini is an excellent intermediate piece in 2 parts for treble choir. And it is actually available from GIA. :)
  • veromaryveromary
    Rounds. Not sure if its the most efficient way, but I love them. You only have to teach one part for everyone.

Ooops, just saw you've already started with canons.

For Christmas we do Gaudete - it is four parts, but they like to do the tenor as something like a descant then hope for a bass on the day, or just go with the three parts. There is So Much Christmas music out there!
  • rogue63