Chant ordinaries layout help?
  • Claire H

A current project of mine is to prepare and print pew cards printed with the Missal Chant ordinaries (Kyrie, Sanctus, Lamb of God) in English, Spanish (Fr. Spencer's Spanish Ordinary I: http://marello.org/simplex/collections/ordinary-i/), and Latin in a matching layout/design.

Although I prefer to use chant notation, the people here at this parish are not ready for that yet, so I need to have them all in the new missal-type "generic modern notation" format.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with notation layout like this, and no time to learn it right now. So my question is:

1. Are any one of you notation gurus willing/able to crank out a matching set for me? (No Glorias needed just now).

2. Or, at least, if someone could input Fr. Spencer's Senor, Ten Piedad, Santo, and Cordero de Dios into modern notation, I could just use the English and Latin from the missal chant files. Perhaps the Spanish could be modeled to "match" it fontwise, etc? (Not a huge deal, but I would like the three to at least coordinate in design).

Thanks in advance for any assistance!
  • chonakchonak
    Have a look at the pew cards at musicasacra.com/ordinary if you haven't seen them yet.
  • Claire, I was messing around with trying to generate modern notation of all of the scores I've already done in chant. It's still pretty experimental, but the attached PDF is an attempt to generate the modern notation from the chant. (The modern style I'm working towards is to match the Missal chants style.)

Also, the Lilypond source code if you need to tweak it can be found here: http://snipt.org/uMfe7 (This code is computer generated so it's not very pretty...)
  • Claire H

Father, this is splendid!! It is exactly what I need and matches the missal chants nicely in layout!

Two thoughts for improvement:

1. If keeping the layout like this, replace (rep.) with (bis) (as the Spanish hymnals do to indicate a repeat)