Nuptial Mass OF Propers?
  • My fiance and I are getting married on June 18th, 2011. I am new to chant, but have fallen in love with it. My fiance's only request was for the music at the Mass to be Latin, or at least chant. I have done a little reading, and am learning about propers for the Mass.

I don't really know where to start. We have a choir that can sing Latin, but think I would have to provide them with the music. Are there specific propers for the OF Nuptial Mass? Do we just use the propers for that day? Should I scratch the propers and just pick some hymns (I would rather not)?
  • Congratulations!

This web page lists the proper-chant options for the OF Nuptial Mass. (Yes, you have options for chants in the OF.)

This web page lists the polyphonic settings of the proper texts for the OF Nuptial Mass.

If you want the chant notation for these, please let us on the forum know. I believe that recordings of most if not all the chants are available online as well — that will help your choir learn them well.
  • marajoymarajoy
    There's only 4 polyphonic settings?! You would think that composers would have been scrambling over each other to write for the weddings of nobility! What am I missing here?

Obviously, I know that now (someone was wondering about this over at your blog,) no, most churches don't have a choir for weddings, the only times I've seen anything resembling a "choir," was for the wedding of church musicians themselves who appreciated beautiful music! (And, once for a wedding of two friends who just happened to have a *ton* of friends who were good singers! The groom was an occasional cantor, and the bride wasn't very musical, but they had two organists in their bridal party, and a choir of about 10 of their friends that almost successfully pulled of the Biebel Ave Maria!)