Sacred vrs. Profane; Light vrs. Darkness?
  • francis
    Milton Babbit recently passed away, God rest his soul. I had an exchange with one of my colleagues yesterday who touted him as brilliant, and perhaps he may have been; but I do not believe it was so in many of his musical compositions. He may have been a brilliant man, I will not argue that point, but is the summit of his innovation, total serialism, truly a branch of the art and science of music deserving of high praise? Is total serialism truly a new discipline in the study of music, or is it a distraction along the way to advancing to the real thing?

I studied music composition and theory at the Peabody Preparatory and the Conservatory of Music in the hayday of avant garde. I dwelt there right in the midst of the 'experimenters' and scrutinized many of their methods. They had 'advanced' beyond the staff and had arrived at the new modern notation: graph paper and the plotting of sound on a timeline.

Integral or total serialism was a school of thought that was an extension of Schoenberg and others in the early 20th century. Many of the proponents of 12 tone serialism eventually abandoned it altogether -- perhaps they got bored. Babbit brought it to a new height (or low, in my mind).

Bach, on the other hand, was truly the greatest mathematician in the realm of composing music. Understanding and using the science of the harmonic species along WITH creative artistic genius is what music is all about; not the sterile experimentation that wriggles and writhes in the dark, cavernous labratories of universities where their searching empty minds create monstrosities and dub them as products of genius. (I guess Dr. Frankenstein could be touted as a genius too, but I think we could all agree that there is no association with the concept of beauty in that regard.)