Emergency situation: Laetare Sunday coming up, and I have no organ music
  • Greetings, everyone. I just joined this forum; I'm a young male college student and a regular choir member at a very typical suburban parish church (which will remain nameless) that has just recently implemented the motu proprio, and is having high Tridentine Masses every Sunday.

I have a major problem, though: this church has next to nothing when it comes to musical literature, other than the green Gather hymnals, and that just isn't going to cut it. We've sung the past two Masses a cappella, and in my opinion, we (except for a smaller group of singers who sing Gregorian and polyphony regularly at another parish) sound horrible and even afraid to sing lest we sound even more off key than we already are.

I'm here to ask a few questions on behalf of my church's organist (who is a Franciscan friar and doesn't use computers). They are:

1.) What books should I get that have full organ accompaniment of the Ordinary and Proper chants of the Mass? Responses, too (like "et cum spiritu tuo").

2.) What books can I get for organ interludes (Offertory, Communion, before and after the sermon) and anthems for before and after Mass?

3.) What books would you recommend for traditional Latin or vernacular congregational hymns for processionals and recessionals?

4.) For the Offertory Proper chant, are there any psalm verses to sing at the end of them in order to repeat the antiphon, like the Communion Proper verses?