Tone-deaf youngsters
  • Part of my duties as parish DM and organist is that I teach the parish homeschool co-op basic singing (solfege, hymns, psalm tone propers, maybe some rounds) once a week. Based on our first day today, I can say with reasonable confidence that three of my four late-middle-school-aged boys seem unable to match pitch at all. The remaining boy, and the rest of the students I have charge over, seem to have no problem at all with basic pitch-matching and simple solfege exercises. Any tips for getting those three boys to match pitch, if nothing else? For context, I'm new to this position. Thanks in advance.
  • davido
    With 12-13 year old boys, you are probably dealing with the changing male voice. Boys that age are reluctant to sing in treble head voice, and unable to sing yet in male chest voice. If their voices have already dropped, they may have great difficulty getting above the bass clef in pitch.
    While they may be tone deaf, I would guess that the changing voice and shyness are more likely culprits. Can they can match pitch in any part of their range? Can they still get the treble function to make sound (imitate for them in falsetto)?
  • Good point. I was relatively talented singing-wise as a kid, but it really IS difficult to sing while you undergo the transition, and you need to “refind” your voice. It isn’t immediately apparent or natural to do, even if you really like to sing.
    Thanked by 1Bri
  • Are they matching pitch by singing a fifth or third above or below the note? If so, you can try retrieving them this way.
    A. Sing a note and ask them to match pitch.
    B. Have them hold the note they are sining and you match pitch with them.
    C. Have them move up with you to the note that you started with.
    Sometimes they don’t come up all the way, in which case you can repeat until they do.