O Dei sapientia attingens
  • First post, so hello everybody.

I am trying to assemble a booklet of breviary hymns, and I have been trying to hunt down a source for the melody of the above hymn, used for the Presentation of Christ at Lauds in the Anglican Breviary. It is a rather obscure one as far as I can tell, and the only source I was able to find was in a MS, (Copenhagen, Det kongelige Bibliotek Slotsholmen, Gl. Kgl. S. 3449, 8o I), but as I am only an enthusiastic hobbyist in chant, I have great trouble decoding the notes – it is in a notation I have not encountered before. There are a number of microfilm scans of the hymn here, here and here.

I had a go at transcribing it into gabc taking some clues from how cantusindex have transcribed it, so I have attached the results – could somebody have a look at it suggest corrections please? Again, I am far from an expert in – I only gave it my best shot.

Thank you in advance!
  • smvanroodesmvanroode
    Welcome to the forum, frkormos!

There are other sources where this hymn can be found, for example St. Gallen, Stiftsbibliothek, Cod. Sang. 440, p. 1r.

More on this hymn, including a long list of manuscripts (without mention of folios!) can be found here.

In order to establish a melody from manuscripts that isn't found in modern chant books, it's always good to have multiple sources. I hope this helps!
    Thanked by 1frkormos
  • tomjaw
    It is common to use the same melody for Hymns of the same meter during a feast. Are the other Hymns for the Feast of the same meter? If so I would use that melody instead of digging out older melodies.
    Thanked by 1frkormos
  • Kathy
    Greetings, Fr. Kormos, and welcome.
    Thanked by 1frkormos
  • Thank you for all the responses.

It is common to use the same melody for Hymns of the same meter during a feast.