Anglicanish Organists, Help Please!
  • Through HS and much of college, and by necessity at my first few jobs, I was a snobby stop-puller who never touched a piston. Now that I have command of a functional three-manual Romantic instrument., I have converted. That said, although I have set up two levels of progressive generals and accompanying sets of progressive divisionals, more anglico, and my swell is nearly always coupled to the great, I am still a novice.

Specifically, how to approach the registration and expression strategically in an extended, very colorful piece, say, Stanford's Op. 105.6 in D minor? How to plan and what to plan, to make best use of the tonal resources at my command.

Tonal disposition of my instrument.
  • CharlesW
    How blessed you are to not have a neo-Baroque screamer. LOL. This from someone who hates those and envies your instrument. You should have warmth from that organ, but try for as much clarity as possible. Unfortunately, you can muddle voice lines if you are not careful, and your singers will have difficulty hearing their parts. For example, l don't use 16' manual stops when accompanying singing. They are fine for some organ works, but create too much "muddiness" with voice lines. You do have the advantage of gradual crescendos and decrescendos which some of the "Baroqies" don't do as well. I guess the key thing is to work with the instrument, not against it. You can make some great music with this organ. Sometimes listening is more important than individual registrations. Get someone else to play and listen carefully to what you are hearing from where the congregation sits.
  • eft94530eft94530
    registration and expression [...] Stanford's Op. 105.6

I played it in Sep 2012 so it will take a bit of digging
    through boxes folders piles to find my score.

What is your deadline?
    Thanked by 1NihilNominis
  • No particular deadline...working it up for the joy of it right now!
  • MarkS