Bare-minimum parish organ advice?
  • I'm a volunteer amateur music director for two small (80-150) english masses at a poor Hispanic parish.

A talented and overworked college piano major from the Spanish mass has saved our bacon by playing piano with us the last couple years.

We have an old but decent electronic organ in our choir loft behind the piano, and I hear good things about the use of organ at mass.

Obviously the "norm" is get a teacher and train in proper technique, but given that she has limited time to practice, I see a few options:

1. Just have her keep doing everything on piano
    2. Ask her to at least jump over to the organ during mass to accompany the simpler stuff. And see if I can find her a lovely prelude that's around this difficulty level.
    3. Buy her an organ tutorial book to practice a bit on her own. (Already hear the snorts of derision; shielding my face from any stray snot)
    4. Try to sign her up for occasional organ instruction.

I'm curious which course you would suggest, and which material you would suggest to that end (Try to choose carefully: the less options, the better). After combing the forum, I'm considering buying The Organist's Manual, to have her play around with, and maybe even try some of it myself. But at that price, I want to be really sure it'll pay off.

Any tips or advice is warmly appreciated. Thanks in advance; you guys are great :)
    Thomas
  • MarkS