Opinions on Perosi's liturgical choral works
  • Hello everyone! I have been lurking silently for years, but this is my first post to the forum. I am a graduate student in sacred music at Duquesne University and am currently working on a research project on the liturgical choral works of Lorenzo Perosi. A search of prior forum discussions indicates that a number of you are using Perosi's works, but some additional information on the place of his music in present-day parish life would be very illuminating and extremely useful for my project.

If you currently or previously have used any of Perosi's compositions, I would appreciate your response indicating which works(s), the reasons you selected them, and any further observations on his compositions, particularly within the context of the liturgy. Conversely, if you would not consider utilizing his works, I would also be interested in hearing from you.

Thank you very much for your help! I deeply appreciate the wealth of knowledge and expertise shared by the members of this forum.
    Thanked by 1MariaRist
  • Perosi's music was a favourite of the young St. John XXIII. "Il Natale" was considered the Italian "Messiah"
  • Thank you for your comment, Doug. Have you used any of Perosi's liturgical compositions, especially the motets or mass settings? I have been translating many of the principal Italian biographic sources, but am hoping to also include some discussion of Perosi's works in 21st century American parishes.