Kyrie chant for priest wary of "high church" sounding pieces?
  • Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'm the music minister at one of the larger Catholic parishes in western West Virginia. I've been in my position for going on 4 years come February. I have a degree in music ed, am a middle school band director, and I grew up in this parish, even though I moved out of state for a dozen years or so before returning shortly before I was hired. My biggest fault is that I don't play piano-only guitar. So to rectify that, I'm happy to say that I've managed to recruit pianists for each of our three masses (up from one when I was hired). So that's a step in the right direction, although we have some guitarists that still strum along that I would eventually like to phase out if possible. We don't have an organ in our church; just a Kurzweil.

I've been trying to slowly change the music culture at our parish. Our current pastor is (in my opinion) a pretty great guy. But he's opposed to music that sounds too "high-church." He's a big fan of David Haas and the ilk. So that's what we sing. I've slowly been incorporating more traditional hymns into mass (mostly Anglican hymns like Ralph Vaughn Williams' pieces) and it's been met with approval. Yesterday, he asked me for my opinion on whether we should chant the Kyrie, to which of course I said yes. I think this could be the beginning of allowing more chant into our masses, so I don't want to mess this up. Does anyone have any suggestions of a good Kyrie that is chanted and respectful, but couldn't be construed as too "high church"? Has anyone else managed a transition like this before? Any help is much appreciated.
  • melofluentmelofluent
    Sorry, couldn't get pdf to publish.
  • chonakchonak
    Some of the "Simplex" Kyries on the CMAA site, in English, may be within his comfort zone:
    http://musicasacra.com/music/english-chant-ordinary/