"The Dumb Question for the Day"
  • mmeladirectress
    the Forum has topical categories: "general discussion" is one of them; I also notice "sacred polyphony" and "hymnody". I suppose this will be TDQFTD, but ... could someone kindly draw the line between the two?
    can it be that the entire "Pange Lingua" is hymnody, and Palestrina's "Tantum Ergo" is sacred polyphony? Apologies but I have never used the term 'hymnody' before.
  • JonLaird
    It's not a dumb question, but this might be a dumb answer!

In the most general sense, people use the word "hymn" here to refer to just about any congregational song excluding sung dialogues and the ordinary of the Mass (Kyrie, Glori, Sanctus, Agnus Dei).

I hasten to add that this definition suffers from being hopelesly un-Socratic. For a more thorough and enlightened discussion of the definition of "hymn," search the forum for "M. Jackson Osborn" hymn song.

Polyphony, as you suggest, is polyhonic music generally reserved for the choir. The name "polyhony" suggests that the melodic nature of each vocal line is more significant than the perceived harmonies, but even primarily homophonic or other non-polyphonic (e.g. modern chord-based) music is (sadly) at times lumped in with polyphony, as though that word were interchangeable with the more general term "choral music."
  • StimsonInRehabStimsonInRehab
    For a more thorough and enlightened discussion of the definition of "hymn," search the forum for "M. Jackson Osborn" hymn song.

You'll have to sort through some posts of dots with yellow boxes. Don't let that deter you.

• Ah! This is not so complicated as all that.