Cantor/choir HELP!
  • From a young music director who just graduated from college last May and has had this job for not quite ten months...

I am seeking to develop my cantor program. I have a handful of very dedicated cantors, all of whom participate in either choir or our parish contemporary ensemble. I am currently meeting with my cantors individually to practice their materials and giving them pointers on expression and the like. When I first started last year I was offering them tips on vocal technique too (I have a Bachelor's Degree in Vocal Performance), but it didn't seem to be helping much and in some cases confused them, I think, so I stopped giving feedback on technique unless they asked me for it. The previous music director at this parish gave free private voice lessons to choir members and held regular sectional rehearsals as well. I'm not sure how to handle the situation. Should I give the extra time during the summer to offer voice lessons to the cantors? I want to improve the program as best I am able, but frankly I don't have much to work with. Most of my cantors are not musically gifted and other than be as encouraging as I possibly can, I don't know how to help them.

(On a side note: Any tips for dealing with very squeezed/pressed phonation? One of my cantors has so much tension in her throat that she struggles to stay on pitch. I have talked to her about relaxing but, again, my words don't seem to help much...)