Different chant settings of the Mystery of Faith
  • I have searched for these and have been unsuccessful in finding anything. Has anybody written melodies for the mystery of faith that correspond stylistically to the Gregorian settings found in the Kyriale? I am relatively new to sacred music (just got introduced to it a year and a half ago), and would like to use the different Gregorian mass settings without having to repeat the same Mortem Tuam for every setting. Thanks for your input!
  • NatePultorak,

Since you're new, I'll assume that my post will be new information to you.

In the older form of the Mass, there is no Memorial Acclamation, and so when the Mortem Tuam was spliced into the Ordo of Pope Paul VI, a melody was borrowed from the liturgy for Good Friday. This melody is sung to the words Crucem Tuam Adoramus, Domine. There were multiple options for the acclamation, but only one melody provided, to the best of my knowledge. Vernacular composers set themselves to the task of writing music for the 4 (actually not, but let that pass) possible texts for the Acclamation. The most commonly used text in allegedly conservative parishes is the one which wasn't in the Latin text of the Missal of Paul VI. Most of the musical settings for the other acclamations is boorish, in part because the translation of the texts left so much to be desired. The rule for most of the last 50 years has been "New music good; old music bad". (Yes, that's supposed to sound like Orwell's sheep.) If there are settings available, they're a well-kept secret.

All that said, around here people recommend the work of Fr. Samuel Weber, OSB, or an outfit called Corpus Christi Watershed. There are a few (relatively) newly composed Mass settings, some of which wish to recapture the chant. My family and I don't attend the Mass according to the rite of Paul VI, so I can't tell you if any of those Mass settings are any good, but surely they are the exceptions rather than the rule.