Too much work ?
  • I have an interesting question. I , like many who write music, write it for many different reasons, but I suppose that it could be argued to some degree that I write to please my own sensibilities. My question to you would be this. Is there ever a time, when a Mass setting might be considered "too much work" in order to get it "performance ready " ?
  • Yes, time to put it away for a time until you are a moved to go back to it anew. Happens all the time.
    Thanked by 1ClergetKubisz
  • I second this. As a composer, I wholeheartedly agree with Noel on this one. I have recently returned to a six part arrangement of Ave Verum Corpus that I started a year ago. My return has yielded a fresh perspective, and some superior progress.
  • melofluentmelofluent
    My question to you would be this. Is there ever a time, when a Mass setting might be considered "too much work" in order to get it "performance ready " ?

I've only come to that conclusion with two Masses- the late Leon Roberts' incredible "Mass of St. Augustine" and Jacob Bancks' "Sacred Heart."
  • Interesting that there are two different takes on what BrBearOFS meant here, a performer's and a composer's PoV.

From the performer PoV: not yet. Our first 2-part mass (Perosi te deum laudamus) is proving chewy. I don't think it's too much work though, it's something to grow into. We're adding it a movement at a time.

As a composer: I always want to make the piece as simple as I can, consistent with the basic idea. That said, I have pieces that will never be done by a parish choir, and most likely not by a cathedral choir, because they're just too hard for the amount of rehearsal time available. They've been done by semi-pro or pickup choirs, so they are performable.

If it's what you have to write, write it. Cut your performers a break when you can. But realize not every piece of putatively liturgical music is for Church. Sometimes it's for the Church Platonic and Ideal.
  • francis