Question about the culture on this forum
  • Some seem to dislike the reviving of old discussions. Others seem happy to do it.

I'm curious to know what participants here think. I'm not trying to start a fight (please!), just wishing to know whether there is view on the matter that is widely held (by participants here), and what are the reasons for (or against) it.

Disclosure: My opinion is that if a discussion is worth continuing, it doesn't much matter when it started, but then again I revive old discussions for a living, so I'm biased.
  • Liam
    My take:

If a discussion has been dormant for a while, I prefer that a new discussion is created and that the creator of the new discussion link the old one. That shows a clear awareness on the creator's part that you are not really continuing a dormant conversation, but creating a new conversation that has some reference to the prior conversation.
  • I'm fine with continuing old discussion threads. Things change, new people join the forum, etc. etc. New threads that duplicate material that's been discussed to death before? Notsomuch.
  • Especially for those of us relatively new to the Forum, we may find as we research ideas and conversations here something that we want to contribute to, or something that we can contribute to, and the previously held discussion serves as a reference to the comment we'd like to make. This is frequently the reasoning behind why I resurrect old threads: I find something relevant to an issue I'm having personally or something that I'm currently researching, and I'd like to make a comment that hasn't been made yet, but in order to do that, I have to bring up the old conversation, complete with the previously held discussion, which is important because it serves as a point of reference for the comment that I'm adding. Also, it can frequently be used so that I can garner the opinions and sometimes be pointed in the right direction from other people here who have more experience than I do.