• I think this was also posted elsewhere on this forum.

I think it is great, on the one hand, that they could get some people interested, but causes for skepticism abound, and the notion that they are going to cover what they say in 60 minutes is ludicrous. I've been studying chant carefully for two years and feel that I've only just scratched the surface.

I wonder how many times they will plug their own products during that 60 minutes?
  • melofluentmelofluent
    We've heard of the FRANCIS EFFECT. What the Oregonian Tract Society is doing ought be called the CMAA EFFECT. Kind of ironic, how at the dawn of this humble and modest papacy everyone's jumping on the chant sailboat. Rest assured, the LitIndustrialCplex will keep their finger moist and in the air to see which way the next wind blows.
  • donr
    I would think this is the product of Arch Bishop Sample more than anything else, but who knows for sure.
  • I dunno...it looks like they're assuming some previous knowledge. An hour is about all you get people to do a webinar for, and it looks to me like that could all be covered. And yes, they will plug their stuff; why shouldn't or wouldn't they?

It's morning in the Church. Give thanks for your Cheerios without peeing in them.
  • (removed due to likely misunderstanding)
  • melofluentmelofluent
    Michael, I may be mistaken, but Brother JQ likely intended the last admonition to my attention. He's outstanding on catching and calling out....., uh, with a flair for words that transcends expletives.
    And he's right, deducing OCP's revived interest in chant as anything other than it is, especially when I crowed about CMAA influence, amounts to pride and hubris. "All we are saying is 'Give chant a chance.'"
  • OK, thanks. And yes, I completely agree that if their efforts increase the use of chant, then hurrah for them.

(I do think that we disagree about whether these topics can really be covered in an hour, but I could be wrong, of course.)
  • ryandryand