Choir Recruitment
  • RA981
    We're beginning a three-week parish choir recruitment drive to "resurrect" the defunct choir. I'm new to the position, but from what I understand, there was a large choir years ago under a former director but when he left for another position a major portion of the choir followed him. After that the choir just dwindled to nothing with the exception of a small group that sings at Christmas/Easter.

Anyone willing to share any bulletin announcements they've written that were found to be effective; particularly write-ups that speak to both the spiritual and health benefits of choral singing? I find humor works and so the wittier the better! (We're doing more than just bulletin announcements, but we'd like to put something in the bulletin each week.)

Thanks!
    Ron
  • irishtenoririshtenor
    I think @Ally has something that she used to use for a bulletin announcement that was pretty good. Also, if I remember correctly, she made up little cards that could be handed out to congregants who demonstrated a decent voice from the pews. (Perhaps she could explain that a little better than I did!) I think they said something to the effect of:

We'd love to have your voice in the choir -- please inquire!!
    Thanked by 2RA981 Ally
  • matthewjmatthewj
    A recommendation...

Try talking your pastor into hiring 4 section leads (SATB) to begin the choir. $50x4=$200 per weekend.

When a parish hasn't had a choir in a long time, the idea of new members coming forth to begin one can be daunting (not impossible, just daunting). If the parish shows up for this 3 week drive and already hear a beautiful choir coming from the loft, people will want to be involved. They'll suddenly be excited and will think "wow - that sounds great, I want to be a part of that."