Daily Psalm Response Accompaniment
  • Hello, I am a pianist for our elementary school Masses. Our new priest wants us to use the daily readings (our previous priest used the Sunday readings). I have not been able to find an accompaniment book for daily psalm responses and all the musicians I have contacted in other parishes do not have any suggestions. I know there are many chants and other generic music I could use, but I am not the music teacher; I am a classroom teacher who just happens to be able to play the piano. I will be leading the psalm and the congregation will join, there is no choir or cantors at these Masses. If anyone can recommend an accompaniment book that I can use, please send the name and any ordering information you have (a picture of the book would be great too). Thank you for helping this fish out of water!
  • I was in the same boat you are in, so at school we used repeated Anglican chant tunes. Anglican chant was created for singing in English and after the third week, the students took over deciding what words go with each note, and practiced it themselves.

You use the same tune week after week, switching to another one only after they can sing the first one in their sleep.

There are some simple rules attached that explain was to work with the words.

These are sung with the rhythm of the words...meaning, you speak the line and then sing it the same way, just change pitches.

The choice of which words go where are a matter of taste is called "pointing". You will find different ways to fit the words. Some people get into heated arguments about which ones to choose. That appears to be normal behavior for some reason or other!

Gregorian chant psalm tones are more difficult since they are designed to start on a note but, depending where it fits in, end on another one - since they are sung with specific chants. Also, the moving notes are written to match Latin word structure.

Anglican chant matches English.