Organ and Chant Recital -
  • I've never done this before, but thought that it would be fun to invite suggestions for a recital piece. I have one 'slot' to fill in a recital which I will be playing on a Fisk in Santa Fe next February and repeating in Houston on Low Sunday.

Requirements for the piece are: a) a baroque or renaissance master, b) chant c.f., c) alternatim. (Any Spanish suggestions may not be Cabezon.)

The programme (with blank spot at no. 8) is as follows.

1. Fantasy on Divinum mysterium - Gerre Hancock

2. Veni creator spiritus - Samuel Scheidt
    3. Ave maris stella - Nicolas de Grigny

4. Te Deum - Jean Langlais

5. Kyrie - Christe - Kyrie, (pedaliter) from Clavier-ubung III - J.S. Bach

6. Fantasy and ricercar: In nomine - Gregory Hamilton

7. Missa Apostolorum: Gloria - Girolamo Cavazzone
    8. _____________________ - ___________

9. Toccata on Victimae paschali laudes - Iain Quinn

The early pieces will have alternatim chant, and the modern ones will be preceded by their respective chants.

The winning entry will receive laudatory mention on the Forum and a gift card to Half-priced Books.

(By the way - Greg Hamilton's piece was composed just for this recital. It is based on the Gloria tibi Trinitas antiphon which Taverner used in his mass of the same name. Because of its prominent use in the 'in nomine' section of Sanctus-Benedictus, such pieces for organ and consort music as quoted Taverner became a genre in early English composition. They are called, variously, In nomine, or Gloria tibi Trinitas. So this piece is a nod to an historic English form. It closes with a 5 voiced ricercar! Greg's organ writing is superb, and I recommend it highly to any and all. He has quite a list of organ, chamber, and choral music to his credit, all of which is excellent.)