Motets for an ordination
  • ViolaViola
    Suggestions would be welcome for choral pieces to be sung at an ordination in late October, Probably something at Communion and maybe also during the Offertory. We will be singing Introit and Communion antiphons. Ordinary will probably be Missa de Angelis. The choir is mixed; some experienced singers who can read, others complete beginners, but keen and prepared to work hard.
    So far S S Wesley's 'Lead me, Lord' springs to mind.
    Thanks!
  • As an offertory anthem for ordination, Byrd's Sacerdotes Domini would be hard to better. If you have Oxford's Sixteenth Century Anthem Book, it's in there. Too, it is readily had in octavo from several publishers. It might even be in Noel's new book, The Catholic Choirbook Anthology.
    Thanked by 1Viola
  • CHGiffenCHGiffen
    Byrd Sacerdotes Domini ... at CPDL for free.
    The edition by David Fraser is authoritative. The James Gibb edition is transposed up a whole tone but has a keyboard reduction of the choral score.
  • Tu Es Sacerdos by Nicolo Montani (from the St. Gregory Hymnal) is 1 part, but with a nice organ accompaniment. Fairly simple, but I think it sounds good. PM me if you want a copy.

• Praglia's Tu Es Sacerdos is very manageable.
  • matthewjmatthewj
    The SATB Cantate Domino attributed to Hassler would be nice for the end of Communion and any of the choir members coming from other (proficient) choirs will likely know it.
    Thanked by 1Viola
  • Sicut Cervus - Palestrina
    Haec Dies - Byrd
    Jubilate Deo - Hassler
    Cantate Domino - Pitoni
    Laudate Dominum - Mozart
    Animae Christe
    O Bone Jesu - Palestrina
    O Sacrum Convivium

I Sat Down Under His Shadow - Bairstow
    Alleluia - Randall Thompson
    O Sacred Feast - Willan
    And He Shall Purify - (MESSIAH) - Handel
    Thanked by 1Viola
  • hartleymartin
    Here's another vote for "Sacerdotes Domini" by Byrd for an ordination Mass.