Winter 2007
  • Here is a good spot to discuss the new issue of SACRED MUSIC.
  • francis
    hmmm. I already chimed in under "How To Fight Against Active Participation" concerning the article "Beauty as a Road To God".

However, last night I read the issue from cover to cover sitting in front of the fire. The article on Messiaen was quite deep, and was very interesting since I am a composer myself and studied in the Universities in the 70s and 80s. Unfortunately, I was in secular Universities (The Peabody Conservatory and Towson State University) and they had gone off the deep end when it came to composing music. It was almost all entirely avant-gard. They were beyond the staff and were using graph paper. Music had indeed become a religion unto itself, and I left both institutions completely disenchanted with the systems of higher learning. I had to study and copy the masters on my own to learn how to compose true excellent music.

"Chant as Beautiful Art" stands in complete contrast to the article of Eleonore Stump. I commend Mr. Schrader for an excellent piece of work. Nonetheless, I must at least totally agree 101% with the opening sentence of Ms. Stump's "Conclusion".

There is so much in this issue, that it demands numerous readings to absorb the content. Perhaps I will post more later. Good work!