Organ Concert ideas
  • Gaudium
    Hi all,

My sweet little Moller organ is getting renovated this summer, and we are planning a "re-dedicatory" concert in the fall. I am a pianist (B.M./M.M. from conservatories) turned organist. I have been taking organ lessons for 4 years or so (I've played Bach little preludes and fugues; bits and pieces of Bach trio sonatas; Franck chorale 3 in a-minor; some Clerambault; Widor's Toccata, etc, etc.).
    I am looking for input and ideas for a great concert that will "show off" our improved but still limited organ. I would like to do a Bach "great" prelude and fugue for a priest who has been here over 40 years who loves Bach. Maybe a Mendelssohn sonata, or another Franck chorale, something to show off our new humble trumpet stop.... Ideas, please (keeping in mind time constraints, and my great hands and excellent sight-reading, but not-great feet/coordination!). Thank you!

Below are the specifications.

GREAT
    8 Open Diapason
    8Stopt Doapason
    4 Octave
    4 Flute
    2 Fifteenth
    III 2-2/3 Mixture
    8 Trumpet (SW)

SWELL
    16 Bourdon
    8 Viola d'Gamba
    8Bourdon
    8Celeste
    4 Principal
    4 Flute
    2 Bourdon
    8 Oboe
    8 Trumpet
    Tremolo

PEDAL
    16 Subbass
    16 Lieblich Bourdon (SW)
    8 Principal (Ext of SW principal)
    8 Subbass
    16 Contrehaitbois (SW Oboe extension)
  • CharlesW
    I have played the Bach Fantasia & Fugue in G minor ("Great"), BWV 542 on an instrument no larger than yours. It's a nice piece. How well does your trumpet stop work as a solo voice for the Franck A Minor? Audiences love the David German Festive Trumpet Tune if your trumpet works well as a solo voice. It's easy to play. The David N. Johnson trumpet tunes are nice - there's a whole book of them. You have some good ideas and can do a lot with that instrument.