New Musical Direction at Small Parish
  • Jazzer
    Hello everyone!

I'm a new member here, and I have really enjoyed reading the threads from the last several years...

I'm a trained Jazz musician (brass) who moved out of the big city to the middle of nowhere... Not many gigs here.
    I have recently started a weekly class on "Historic and Traditional Catholic Music" at my Church, and it would appear that I might be pressed into service as a sort of MD. It's not what I had in mind necessarily, but my priest just told me I could buy books and other materials and he'd reimburse me... Is that what we call a mandate? :)

I have a solid foundation in Jazz ear training from college, which consisted of conducting & singing solfege, Tonal and Jazz harmony, sightreading, etc.... (I am NOT a good keys player... but I want to really work on my organ chops now...)

Starting in May of this year, I've been offering my class to any parishioners who want to come... We began by listening to Ambrosian chant, early gregorian pieces, early polyphony, up to Mozart and Bach. I began by offering a "Survey of Music", where we mostly listened to music and talked about the good old days of Catholic Music... I am trying to offer a fresh start for them now musically, without spending too much time talking about our present "Massive Cremation" and all that. Only positivity is welcome!

Now, we are working on material.

I started explaining to them that we have not been "singing the mass"... and we began working on PDFs printed from Simple English Propers. They were very, VERY excited about that. We are now working on a good choral mass setting, JMO's Issac Jogues Mass... We love the easy lines with the potential for beautiful harmony once we are capable. (and the copyright!)