Kyrie Iesu Nazarenus
  • Pax tecum!

this is my first time making chant music,
    if you have insight when see / listen, please help me,
    critic and comment are very appreciated

https://soundcloud.com/jefflokanata/kyrie-iesus-nazarene/s-3I9tW
    (sorry the recording is awful, i cant sing properly)

it was inspired from Martyred and Slaughtered Christian by ISIS
    the contour of melody is mimic the arabic word 'nun'

I dont have any app that can make gregorian note , and I use mac , could you help me?

Thank you
    Thanked by 1M. Jackson Osborn
  • chonakchonak
    You can use the Gregorio application to make chant scores.

For simple cases, you don't even need to install it on your machine; you can use it through a web site.

For information on Gregorio, see;
    * the documentation site http://gregoriochant.org/
    * the on-line Gregorio editor: http://illuminarepublications.com/gregorio/
    * a tutorial: http://gregorio-project.github.io/tutorial/tutorial-gabc-01.html
    * a reference sheet for Gregorio's "gabc" code to represent scores: http://gregoriochant.org/dokuwiki/doku.php/cheat_sheet
    Thanked by 1jefflokanata
  • Here's some gabc code to get you started. Sounds nice; just a few observations:

(i) I've substituted some note shapes to make it look prettier, especially in the descending scale figures. YMMV.
    (ii) "le-i" in "eleison" is usually taken as two syllables.
    (iii) Comparing the sung version with the manuscript above, there appears to be a missing note in the manuscript for the last "eleison".
    (iv) You might consider a variation for the last repetition of "kyrie eleison".
    Thanked by 1jefflokanata
  • Bruce E. Ford
    Although the "ei" in the word "eleison" is treated as two syllables in the Vatican ed., in most medieval manuscripts it is treated as one. The Greek letters are epsilon-eta (short E followed by long E). Doesn't it seem acceptable for the modern composer to take his choice in this matter?