Offertory Propers simplified/reduced
  • Our schola has been seeking Offertory Propers that are somewhere between the psalmtone/Rossini and the full Gregorian from the Liber Usualis. Since there don't seem to be any, I've begun simplifying them. The attached is for Low Sunday.
    Thanked by 2CHGiffen canadash
  • canadashcanadash
    This looks great to me, though I'm no expert. It would be a nice way to introduce the Latin propers without overwhelming a group of amateurs. I think my choir could learn one of these every couple of weeks for offertory, for example, because we have learned to read the ordinary chants and read from the SEP. Thanks for posting.
    Thanked by 1joyniklas
  • Adam WoodAdam Wood
    Isn't that (um) not (um) allowed?
  • chonakchonak
    Oh, please, Adam, we've beaten that dead horse already several times on this forum (the 1958 prohibition of simplified melodies for the propers, other than psalm tones).

An inquirer in 2008 asked the Ecclesia Dei commission about a number of restrictive music rubrics, and whether they still applied, and the response was, more or less, no.

Msgr. Camille Perl wrote: "Your questions are of a rather technical nature. Without entering into great detail we would say that custom and usage in the course of more recent decades have modified some of the strict requirements in the documents you have cited."

He then goes on to refer the inquirer to *our* website for information, and in particular to Andrew Mills' book Psallite Sapienter, which we published.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/7922493/Letter-from-Vatican-on-Music
  • dhalkjdhalkj