Feeling discouraged with my schola. Please help.
  • I've been directing a schola at my parish since this fall and so far we've sang at 3 masses (1st Sunday of Advent, Immaculate Conception, Christmas morning). I've had a group of about 7 and it was working out pretty well, even though most couldn't read music and weren't very experienced. I started out with 1 soprano, 1 alto, 1 tenor, and 2 basses. I normally sing soprano but I have been singing alto because my lone alto isn't confident enough to sing her part alone. That's alright, I live in a rural area and I'll take what I can get.

Now my lone soprano has dropped out and so I decided to recruit some kids to see if they could sing the soprano part (mainly what we're focusing on is Richard Rice's Simple Choral Gradual). I have 4 young girls aged 6-10 and they are willing and excited to sing, but I have to admit that I have no idea what I'm doing with teaching kids. What was I thinking?! I'm not a professional. I've taken years of voice lessons, but that doesn't mean that I'm qualified to teach others how to sing.

In addition to being totally overwhelmed by the kids, my tenor and one of the basses didn't show up to practice last time, so that didn't help, either. I am just thinking I completely overestimated the ability of my schola based on what we were able to do last time, and now I feel like an idiot. Basically, we're just singing the Rice propers SATB and I wanted us to sing Lambillotte's Panis Angelicus SATB at Communion, but then discovered that no one had any experience with Latin and they were all completely lost, especially the kids.